Skip to content

Optic vs TextSniper: Which Screen OCR App for Mac?

By Eduard Bruch, developer of Optic · Updated

Optic and TextSniper do the same core job: drag a box over anything on your Mac screen and get the text on your clipboard, plus QR codes. They differ in price, the macOS versions they support and the extras around that core.

Short answer: my pick is Optic if you want screen text and QR codes from the menu bar for $4.99, a one-time purchase, recognized on the Mac with no network access. TextSniper fits better if you need vertical Chinese/Japanese/Korean text, customizable keyboard shortcuts, iPhone camera capture, or a Mac older than macOS 14.

Disclosure: I build Optic, so the pick is my opinion. TextSniper details last checked: 2026-10-10, from its own App Store listing and textsniper.app.

Side by side

Optic (our pick) TextSniper
Price $4.99 one-time (Mac App Store, US) $9.99 one-time (Mac App Store, US); direct licences from $7.99 for 1 Mac
Subscription No No ("One-time purchase", vendor page)
Min macOS 14.0 Sonoma 12.0 per the store listing ("Catalina or newer" on the vendor page)
Capture Drag a box on any connected display, from the menu bar "Click and drag" from any app, menu bar app
QR codes QR, Micro QR, Aztec, Data Matrix, PDF417 "QR code and barcode reader"
1D barcodes (EAN, UPC) No "Barcodes" mentioned; types not stated
OCR languages 21, switchable "Over 25", depending on the macOS version
Vertical CJK text Not stated as a feature Yes (listing)
Code-friendly output Code mode keeps indentation Not stated
Line-break options Preserve, remove, smart merge Not stated
History Last 20 captures in the menu bar Not stated
Text to speech Read aloud from history Yes (listing)
iPhone/iPad camera capture No Yes (listing)
Keyboard shortcuts Not promised on this site "Customizable keyboard shortcuts" (listing)
Works offline Yes, no network entitlement "On-device OCR technology – no internet connection required" (listing)

Sources: Optic from its code and store listing (facts); TextSniper from its Mac App Store listing and textsniper.app, both read on 2026-10-10. "Not stated" means TextSniper's pages did not mention it, not that it lacks it.

Where Optic fits better

  • Price: $4.99 against $9.99 on the US Mac App Store as of 2026-10-10. Both are one-time purchases.
  • Clean pasted text: Code mode keeps indentation for code; smart merge turns wrapped lines from a column or slide into normal paragraphs.
  • 2D codes beyond QR: Optic lists Micro QR, Aztec, Data Matrix and PDF417 by name.
  • History: your last 20 captures stay in the menu bar with thumbnails, to copy again, open a link or read aloud.
  • No network access at all: the app is sandboxed without a network entitlement, so captures cannot leave the Mac.

Where TextSniper fits better

  • Older Macs: its listing says macOS 12; Optic needs macOS 14.
  • Vertical CJK text and a longer language list on the newest macOS versions, per its listing.
  • Keyboard shortcuts you can customize, and iPhone or iPad camera capture.
  • Track record: its listing quotes reviews from Macworld, 9to5Mac, MacStories and others. Optic was released in September 2026.

What neither does

Both are screen tools. Neither is a document OCR suite for turning a whole scanned PDF into a searchable file; for that, see the "document OCR" section in best screen OCR apps for Mac. Optic also does not open image or PDF files: the text has to be on screen.

If you are weighing other apps too, see EasyScreenOCR alternatives and, if you also want screenshots and recording, CleanShot X and Snagit alternatives for OCR.

How to try Optic

  1. Get it from the Mac App Store and allow Screen Recording when the setup asks.
  2. Click the Optic icon in the menu bar, choose Capture Text, drag a box over some text.
  3. Paste with Command-V.

Get Optic on the Mac App Store

How we checked

I read textsniper.app and TextSniper's Mac App Store listing on 2026-10-10 and copied their statements into the table, quoting the vendor where it matters. Optic facts come from its code and store listing (all Optic facts); I build and use Optic. I did not run accuracy or speed tests on either app.

FAQ

Is Optic or TextSniper better?

My pick is Optic for screen text and QR codes at $4.99, a one-time purchase; I build it, so weigh that. TextSniper is the better fit if you need vertical CJK text, customizable shortcuts, iPhone camera capture or macOS 12 and 13 support.

Is Optic cheaper than TextSniper?

On the US Mac App Store on 2026-10-10, Optic was $4.99 and TextSniper $9.99, both one-time purchases. TextSniper also sells direct licences from $7.99 for one Mac on its website.

Do Optic and TextSniper work offline?

Yes. Optic recognizes text on the Mac and has no network entitlement. TextSniper's listing says its OCR is on-device with no internet connection required.

Do both read QR codes on screen?

Yes. Optic reads QR, Micro QR, Aztec, Data Matrix and PDF417 codes; TextSniper's page says it reads QR codes and barcodes.

Can I use Optic on macOS 13 Ventura?

No. Optic needs macOS 14 Sonoma or later. On older macOS versions, TextSniper (macOS 12 per its listing) or Shottr (macOS 10.15) are options.

Get Optic on the Mac App Store · TextSniper alternatives · All Optic facts